Connecticut Drug Sale - Intent to Distribute Laws & Penalties

drug sale and intent to distribute in CT

Erin Field is on your side if you have been charged with selling drugs in the state of Connecticut. 

A charge of selling drugs is an extremely serious offense, and frequently carries jail time if you are found guilty.

These laws are enormously complicated. There is a lot of technical information here, but honestly, there is no way for a lay-person to sort it out in any meaningful way, and apply it to their case.

The penalties can be different if the person selling is also considered drug dependent” under the law. And the legal defense strategies can vary tremendously depending on your specific situation.

You need the best Connecticut criminal defense lawyer you can get, as quickly as possible. Please call me for a free consultation now, and Ill help you work through your possible defense options, and what your best chances are to try to win your case.

For a phone consultation on any drug sale or distribution charge, please call me immediately. I answer my own phone, and I can talk to you right away.

Drug Sale/Intent to Sell Penalties in Connecticut

The laws and penalties for selling drugs vary depending on the type of drug, the amount, and whether it is a first offense or subsequent offense.

Cultivation and sale of marijuana

The Cultivation, Delivery or Sale of Marijuana, Equal to or Less than 1 Kilogram and Over 1 kg carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

Offense

First offense

Second offense

Cultivation of up to 3 mature plants and 3 immature plants 

Written warning

Fine of $500

Less than 1 kilogram

Up to 7 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.

Up top 15 years in prison anad $100,000 in fines.

1 kilogram or more

5-20 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines

10-25 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines

Also see my marijuana possession defense page.

Sale of any Narcotics or Hallucinogens Other than Marijuana(CGS § 21a-277(a) )

The Sale of any Other Illegal Drug Other than Marijuana carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

  • First offense: up to 15 years imprisonment, a $50,000 fine, or both
  • Subsequent offenses: up to 30 years imprisonment, a $100,000 fine, or both
  • Additional 30 year terms and $250,000 fines for additional convictions

Sale of any other illegal drug other than marijuana Cite: CGS § 21a-277(b)

Cite: CGS § 21a-278(a)

The Sale of at least 1 Ounce of Heroin, Cocaine, or Methadone; 5 Milligrams of LSD; or 0.5 Grams of Crack Cocaine by a Non Drug-Dependent Person carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law of you are found guilty:

  • Mandatory minimum 5 years imprisonment with a possible maximum term of life imprisonment

Cite: CGS § 21a-278(b)

The Sale of at least 1 Kilogram of Marijuana or any Amount of Narcotics, Amphetamines, or other Hallucinogens by a Non Drug-Dependent Person carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

  • Minimum 5-year jail term with a possible maximum term of up to 20 years
  • Subsequent Offenses: mandatory minimum 10-year jail term up to a 25-year maximum term

Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(b) Selling Drugs Within a School Zone

The Sale of Drugs Within 1,500 Feet of an Elementary or Secondary School, Licensed Day Care Center, or Public Housing Project carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

  • Mandatory 3-year jail term running consecutively to any jail term imposed for violating the underlying drug sale crime

Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(a) Selling Drugs to a Minor

The Sale of Drugs to a Minor who is at least 2 Years Younger by a Non Drug Dependent Adult, carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

  • Mandatory 2-year jail term running consecutively to jail term imposed for violating the underlying crime

Cite: CGS § 21a-278a(c) Hiring a Minor to Sell Drugs

Hiring a Minor to Sell Drugs carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

Hiring a minor to sell illegal drugs in violation of the laws prohibiting illegal drug sales

Mandatory 3-year jail term running consecutively to the underlying drug sale crime

Cite: CGS § 53a-54b(6) Sale of drugs to someone who subsequently dies

Selling Heroin, Cocaine, or Methadone to Someone who Subsequently Dies from Taking such Drugs carries the following penalties under Connecticut Law if you are found guilty:

Causing the death of a user by selling heroin, cocaine, or methadone

Life imprisonment without possibility of early release or a death sentence if the jury fines that aggravating factors outweigh mitigating factors

How To Beat a Connecticut Drug Sales Charge

The first thing to do in a serious drug case is to challenge the manner in which the police found the evidence against you.

Whenever I can, Ill also argue that the crime is overcharged, and make an argument that a simple drug possession charge is more appropriate for the evidence involved.

Contact a Connecticut Drug Sale Defense Attorney Today

Any drug sale charge is extremely serious, and demands an aggressive defense to avoid the most severe consequences you are facing. Call now to find out what I can do for you.

Call me now for a free consultation on Connecticut Drug Sale laws and criminal charges.

(860) 573-0700

Best Lawyers Logo | CT Defense Lawyer American Board of Trial Advocates Logo | CT Defense Lawyer LexisNexis Martingdale-Hubbell Peer Review Rated Logo | CT Defense Lawyer