Connecticut Reckless Driving Defense Attorney
Erin Field is on your side if you have been charged with reckless driving in the state of Connecticut.
Reckless driving is a criminal offense under Connecticut traffic laws, and it is surprisingly easy to get charged with reckless driving.
Simply driving more than 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit is an automatic reckless driving criminal charge. Regardless of any other facts, road conditions, time of day, or whether you were otherwise driving safely and carefully. You can also be charged with reckless driving for any driving behavior that the police officer decides is reckless or endangers the lives of others on the road, but these factors are not explicitly defined or stated under Connecticut law, so the charge can be very subjective.
If you made a mistake, were talking on the cell phone, adjusting the radio or GPS map, drinking a cup of coffee or eating and momentarily lost control of your car, you shouldn’t be facing a criminal punishment and deserve a second chance.
And the results can be serious, and personally devastating. For an immediate phone consultation on any reckless driving charge, please call me immediately. I answer my own phone, and I can talk to you right away.
Connecticut Reckless Driving Penalties
If you are found guilty of reckless driving, you can face up to 30 days in jail, fines of up to $300, loss of license, and more.
For a second (2nd) offense reckless driving charge, the maximum penalties go up to a year in jail and a $600 fine.
C.G.S. § 53a-64 – Reckless Endangerment in the Second Degree
Many things that count as reckless endangerment also fit separate criminal charges (illegal discharge of a weapon for example). Reckless endangerment in the second degree involves situations where the actor is alleged to have recklessly engaged in conduct that creates any risk of harm to another person.
Where reckless endangerment overlaps with reckless driving includes:
- Committing a DUI with another passenger in your car
- Extreme unsafe driving such as racing or evading police
How To Beat a Reckless Driving Charge in Connecticut.
The first thing I often do in reckless driving cases is challenge the assertion that the driving behavior was reckless. We can point out all the things that you did correctly, properly, and safely, to call into question the judgment of recklessness.
- Were you driving between the white lines? Most of the time?
- Did you have a momentary lapse that was quickly corrected?
All these points and more can challenge the standing of a recklessness charge.
If you are charged for reckless driving over 85 miles per hour in a 65 zone, we can contest the determination of the speed. Was it officially clocked on radar/lidar? If so, is the device properly maintained and calibrated? Can the prosecution and the police provide those maintenance records?
I can also look for opportunities to get the charges reduced from a criminal offense down to a simple moving violation or civil charge. If I can keep you from ending up with a permanent criminal record, that is a very successful outcome in many cases.
My defense strategies will depend on the exact nature of the circumstances, so call me to discuss your case, and I will give you my opinion on how to fight it, and what the chances of a successful outcome may be.
Contact Me for Reckless Driving Defense Today
If you have been charged with reckless driving, you should speak with an experienced attorney asap. I always answer my phone, so give me a call now for a free consultation to discuss your case and defense.